KK's Korner

No telling what’s being thought of in the mind of a lunatic

My Final Comment On NHL Cable Location Criticism

leave a comment »

I get that the NHL isn’t the most popular league out there. I get that their cable home, OLN, isn’t high up on many people’s station line-ups. But for God’s sake Michael Wilbon, if you can’t figure out how to search for a freaking cable channel then thank Christ you aren’t registered to vote in Palm Beach County. And before you go bitching about the length of the Stanley Cup playoffs, check your calendar to see when exactly the NBA Finals conclude. For the record, I consider myself a casual fan of hockey; the only people I know in this Stanley Cup finals are Mark Recchi and Glen Wesley, and that’s because I remember both back in the early 1990s when Mark was a Penguin and Glen was a Bruin. It’s a shame that the Stanley Cup Finals isn’t getting more recognition because Game 1 was fantastic. Too bad Edmonton’s goalie got hurt and, from what I heard on the radio earlier today, is out for the rest of the playoffs. Because of this, it looks like Carolina is sure to win it all now. However, one never knows in the NHL; if the Oilers went by conventional wisdom they would have been eliminated in the first round.

Speaking of the Stanley Cup Finals, the WWE broadcast a commercial on OLN pimping their next appearance on RAW in Shittsburgh. Of course, the ad was aired at 9:08 p.m. on a night that Raw was making a stop in the city. Since the Oilers/Hurricanes game was in an intermission, I tuned over to USA just to see what I have been missing. I stopped watching wrestling several years ago, so I am out of the loop when it comes to storylines. I got to USA in time to see Terry Funk (?!) get into the ring, along with a bunch of other ECW’ers I remember watching 10 years ago. Wow. That’s all I’m going to say on this matter. Well, that and time can be quite cruel when it wants.

Written by kkktookmybabyaway

June 6, 2006 at 8:07 pm

Posted in Sports

Leave a comment